An Ex-Spotting?

Have you ever kept in contact with an ex?  How many of us, once we are done with, or been unceremonious dumped by, an ex, do we keep in touch?  And if not, the running into an ex is like ‘Walking Dead’ meets 90210 drama.  How can one overcome this by chance encounter?

I tot I taw an x! Did I, did I tee an x?

Ok, so as luck would have it, I have only a few select ex-partners that I will eventually run into.  And of all my ex’s, only one remains a valued friend.  My musing is thanks to a creepy encounter the other day, while on the bus to work.  Trying to mind my own business, while chatting with a former work friend, I glanced out the window, into the passenger side window of a van.  With a dog perched vicariously in the seat.  Beyond the dog- that face!  I can be prone to drama, so ghosts get the best of me at times.  I usually think I see people I used to know, out and about.  Natural, as we do live in the same city, right?  Well, this is not one of those stories!

Clark had a rather interesting life, albeit a long, soul-searching one.  I will have to devote a full article for this one! Until then….About four years ago, I had the half-hearted goodbye with him.  This was after I allowed him to stay with me, after he ended things (I know, don’t judge….), for about a month or so. He had no connections to any of his ex’s, and I was insane enough to think this would be any different after only 8 months.  We chatted friendly once, a couple of weeks later.  Through a series of events, he had been with someone else, and it seemed to have ended on a sour note.  He moved back home to his parents.  In bumroger nowhere, hours away.  Clark, did not have his driver’s license.  He couldn’t handle a lawn mower.  However, in the time since I knew him, word has it that he indeed has his license now, for a job.  (gasp!)  And, I have it on good authority, could very well have been driving along side my bus.  In the city!?

I wish I could say that it was a spark of lost love that I was feeling.  But the awkwardness was darker than that.  I analyzed it for a long time, but it isn’t about us.  Or me.  It really is about how someone who loved someone else, could just pull up stakes, faster than an illegal snake oil husker, and leave behind bad karma.  That someone couldn’t repay what they owed, and settle up, is beyond me.

It really is not about the money, or the broken promises.  An ex who slinks out of your life, like a fox out of the hen-house, as not to get caught, is not a person I care to re-encounter.  Bygones be bygones, I get.  Does this make me one of those yappers, who never lets the past rest?  No.  Pretty sure I can let things go.  I am still practicing that one.  Is it that thing, about the fine line between love and hate?  Again, no.  I do not hate Clark.  However, I do not like him.  Or who he was.  If I were to come face to face with him… That’s the rub.  I could make a public scene (which I have already done with him).  I could be polite.  If you have something to say to someone who meant something to you, should you not be able to speak your mind?  If given the chance, would I walk away, or would I deck him?

Ok, I know.  There is the high road.  And the low road.  I like to think of myself as a high road person.  I have weak moments, I admit.  I can slip back into the hood routine of my past.  (If I do, please note, it’s Brynaenae Shanikqua, thank you).  I have great advice for others, but for myself.. meh.

And running into an ex, is usually at the worst time possible.  One friend admitted, that she had an ex encounter at a protest gone wrong.  He was the police officer who grabbed her, in the melee, and tackled her to the ground.  I know!  He arrested her.  Another friend, was on a date with a new girl, and his ex turned out to be the waitress, who took the order from his new girl, while he was on his way.  He got there, and found them politely talking.  (It was a bad break-up, after 4 years).  He kept collected, and they did chat, but he admitted, it was awkward.  So, unless the fates throw us together, in some freakish attempt to entertain the universe, I guess I can handle it.

So, I will, now that I have gotten a wiki link update, allow myself to relax, and let the bitch slap land where it will.  Is foreshadowing any better than blissful ignorance?  Would I be better off?  After all, who is to say we will even actually ‘see’ each other.  I mean, we could be (have been) at the same place, at the same time, and never know it.

And there you have it.  Puppets for the universe’s enjoyment.  Ex’s are ex’s for a reason.  Some, a nightmare.  Some, just didn’t fit as well as the Chanel jacket that never lets you down.  So, then, if you have ever encountered an ex, how did you handle it?  Did you ignore them, or they you?  Did you have a confrontation?

Have you ever ran into an ex?  Ran one over?  Any advice?  Would love to hear your stories, of an ex-encounter!

4 Comments

Filed under Relationships

4 responses to “An Ex-Spotting?

  1. no ex’s here – i buried them all – muwahhahaha (j/k!)

  2. It’s never happened to me, but I’ve had some pretty uncomfortable dreams about it, so I know what you’re talking about. Part of the issue, I think, is that we see people for who they really are, but sometimes we see it too late. And then we wonder why we weren’t smarter.

Leave a Reply

